JoAnn Stromberg Student Leader Scholarship

Deadline is April 24, 2020

The $3,000 JoAnn Stromberg Student Leadership Scholarship, given in honor of the nearly 30 years of service dedicated by former Executive Administrator, JoAnn Stromberg, was established following her retirement in 2015. The purpose of this scholarship is to encourage students to take on more leadership opportunities and strengthen the connection between students and the electronics industry.

The Stromberg Scholarship is awarded annually to a student pursuing a degree in electronics (or surrounding industry) and actively involved in the SMTA. The scholarship is intended for the purchase of technical books and research materials, for participation in conferences related to electronics assembly and packaging, and for living expenses if necessary.

Make a Donation  

2019 Scholarship Winner Announced

The 2019 recipient, Kimberly Porter, has been selected by the SMTA Awards Committee for her committed leadership in the SMTA.

Kimberly Porter is currently pursuing an Associate Degree in Micro Electromechanical Systems MEMS at Lorain County Community College (LCCC). Upon obtaining her Associates Degree she plans on continuing her education by earning a Bachelor’s Degree in Microelectronic Manufacturing at LCCC. Her current career path is an Operator on the SMTA line. She is currently involved in a multitude of groups on campus, one of which is the SMTA Student Chapter where she holds the title of Vice President for her chapter. Her goal as the Vice President is to introduce young and potential engineers to SMTA and this career field. She engages with local high schools to share information about the association, which allows for connections to be made and doors to open for future engineers of America. Kimberly is also a member of the Society of Woman’s Engineering (SWE) where she participates in the SWE NE Ohio professional section meetings, engages in activities promoting student life on and off campus, and overseeing information tables at events to recruit new members. Kimberly enjoys the opportunity to help others on campus, by lending her support on all matters of SWE, while also guiding others on their career path in MEMS. She is also a wonderful mother of 12 kids, all of which is the reason she works hard, and studies harder. Kimberly wants to be an example to them that despite the many obstacles that one faces in their life, the opportunity to succeed is always there, you just have to reach up and grab it. We are honored to present Kimberly Porter as the 2019 JoAnn Stromberg Scholarship Recipient.

The award is presented at the SMTA Annual Meeting during the SMTA International Conference in Rosemont, IL.

Anita Brown, Indium Corporation
Richard Henrick, Sanmina Corporation
Glen Herzog, SMTA Houston Chapter
Robert Kinyanjui, Ph.D., John Deere Electronic Solutions
Scott Priore, Cisco Systems, Inc.
Julie Silk, Keysight Technologies
Gary Tanel, Libra Industries  and SMTA Dallas Chapter

Return to Main Page